And the Axe Falls Down

When I was at JFK on Friday, I was eagerly skimming Twitter and Facebook posts I had gone without for about 5 days (in social media time, this can be forever).  To be fair, after the first day, I actually enjoyed not looking at my phone all the time.  It allowed me to focus on the people and places around me and really take everything in.  But now that I’m back, I’ve mostly returned to my usual iPhone habits ::sigh::

Anyway, the biggest news I accumulated in my first hour was the following:

*Ashton Kutcher is replacing Charlie Sheen on Two and a Half Men?  I have never seen an episode of the show, could care less about Charlie Sheen, and only moderately care about Ashton Kutcher, but wow.  I think it’s good Kutcher is returning to TV since his movies are at best okay to see once.

*Casey Anthony is still news.  Really?  Over it.

*OMG ALL MY SHOWS GOT CANCELLED.

That last one was a big deal.  I pride myself on handpicking new shows to start watching to replace the ones retiring (this year, both Smallville and Life Unexpected ended for me).  I picked up a LOT of new shows this year in particular, but nearly ALL of them got cancelled.

Cancelled List: Better With You, Perfect Couples, Off the Map, Mr. Sunshine, No Ordinary Family, Hellcats, The Event

Renewed List: Happy Endings

ABC's Better With You

Yeah, Happy Endings.  That one I’ve only seen about three of the aired episodes and just decided I’d keep watching.  All the other ones I have seen all the episodes for.  Some I’m okay with going, like The Event and Mr. Sunshine.  I could go with or without them.  I was most disappointed about Better With You because I think it really is a great show that people didn’t bother to try.  Some of the others, like Hellcats and No Ordinary Family, had their highs and lows for me, but I’m still disappointed they weren’t given a 2nd chance to impress.  Boo.

I’ll try to keep a glass half full view, though.  Supernatural and Chuck could have easily been goners, but both were renewed for the Fall.  I think Supernatural staying on another year will ease my Smallville pain (not my favorite show, but have watched every episode live (or near to live) since it began when I was 13).  I missed the last two episodes of Smallville when I was in Russia, and I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch them yet.

If you want to check out a full list of all the major networks’ renewed and cancelled shows, click here.

Leave a Reply

