As Rafiki would say, “It is time.”

Up until now, I have tried to just focus on one step at the time.  Graduate.  Go to Russia.  Finish my internship.  Complete TFA course work.  Pack.  Drive to Alabama.  Drive to Tulsa.  Put everything in a storage unit.  Tour apartments.  But now, all I have left is to actually start with TFA.  I honestly feel like I am living someone else’s life.  I’ve become so distracted with even the simplest tasks (ex. I asked for a 3:15 movie ticket when I really wanted 11:15 and I left my thumb drive in the hotel business center, though luckily no one grabbed it in the time it took me to go looking for it) because I think part of me doesn’t believe that I’m here.  I’m not the type of person to just pack up my life and move to an unfamiliar place doing unfamiliar work.  This is insane!

Welcome to Oklahoma

Entering Oklahoma

Tomorrow I move into the Hyatt Regency for a week for induction, and then it’s a two day drive to Phoenix for five weeks of training.  I have a feeling things won’t seem permanent until I get back to Tulsa in late July.  Until then, I’m just going to keep moving forward and do my best to avoid those heart-wrenching glances back.  These next two years might be the best of my life…or maybe they’ll be the worst.  I don’t really know what’s ahead, but the best I can do is keep up a good attitude.  I’ve already survived a two day drive here (part of which was relaxing and beautiful, part of which made me feel like a pretzel and had me teaching myself to stretch while driving to keep somewhat comfortable), lifting more than my weight in stuff to put in storage, and my first experiences with apartment hunting.  The next 6 weeks should be smooth sailing then, right?

We’ll see.

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “As Rafiki would say, “It is time.””

  1. loved your title for this post!

Leave a Reply

