Bachelorette Live React

This is the first season of and Bachelor/Bachelorette season I have watched regularly live.  I’m not a huge fan of reality TV, especially dating reality TV, but it’s summer- a time that makes me susceptible to any semi-addictive show while I wait for my beloved prime time TV nights to come back to me in the Fall (is it September yet?!?).  Anyway, The Bachelorette has won me over, especially with the lovely addition of Jef (ahhh Jef <3), and I wanted to commemorate my likely only season of watching with a rundown of my major reactions during the finale.  I feel like there are only 4 possible outcomes for tonight, and I have listed them in order of my preference below.

First Choice: Happy ending with Jef.  Team Jef FTW.

Second Choice: Happy ending with Arie. BOO- But I will take this over third and fourth choices.

Third Choice: Picking either guy and having it not work out by “After the Final Rose.”

Fourth Choice: Not picking either guy.  WTF.  If this happens, I can’t be responsible for the language at the end of my blog post.

Alright, it is officially time to start The Bachelorette.  Grab a drink, grab a pillow, and enjoy “the most dramatic event of the summer” (according to Chris Harrison).  I’ll update during each commercial break : )

7:03: Nice to mention Colorado tragedy Chris, even if this was like the one moment I stopped thinking about the horrible event this weekend : /  But I appreciate him encouraging everyone to work to make their community safer.

7:05: I like her maroon dress and how she dressed it up with a giant gold necklace.

7:06: Good job bringing flowers Jef.  Points for you!  Stay strong against the mom- she might trap you with her questions!  He’s saying all the right things, but he seems nervous : (

7:10: Oh  noes.  Brother seems tough…despite being named Ernie.

7:11: Is every family member going to talk to him separately?  I think it would be hilarious if the future sister in law took him aside for an intense interrogation.

*Commercial Break*

7:17: Brighter outfit for Arie- I like the romantic one from Jef’s visit better, but it works for the whole beachy scene.

7:18: Uhhhh, why are you talking about fishing Arie? UH OH.  He brought out the Bachelorette roses! Watch out Jef.

7:20: Does anyone else think Emily’s mom has WAY too much eye make-up on?  Wait- did she even ask Arie questions?

7:21: Good job Ernie- dig into Arie!  Oh great, now Ernie is falling for both guys, too.

7:23: Arie seems young and child-like to me.  Jef can be fun like that, too, but he can be serious in a way Arie can’t.  Oh look, they are making out AGAIN.

*Commercial Break*

7:29: How are they not sure Jef is the “black and white” answer?

7:31: We’re already talking about not getting engaged? Sigh. These doubts seem to be coming earlier in the show than expected.

7:33: WHAT?  Is this serious drama really going to come up next?  What is going to happen in the next hour and a half?  Maybe we’ll see them get to know each other more (with Ricky) over time after this island trip and she’ll make the choice later.

*Commercial Break*

7:37: Oooo I spot one guy in the studio audience.  YES MORE CHEERS FOR JEF!

7:38: Aww, Ricky’s cute.

7:39: I like that Jef realizes how important it is to meet Ricky before the proposal- and tries to stress that.  It’s a big step for him to become a dad, too.  It’s not just about who Emily wants to add in her and Ricky’s life.  I think all three need to feel that good fit.

7:42: I love that Jef just challenged her and asked her to put herself in his shoes.  I would want to date someone who challenges me like that.  Yay, she agreed to introduce them!

7:44: I love how excited Jef looks to meet Ricky.  He looks more excited than when he got to see Emily for their date 5 minutes ago : )

7:45: Ohhhh, that’s why she kept Ricky from the guys so long.  It’s partly to protect her daughter, but mostly because if it doesn’t go well, it would end the relationship (like she just said).

*Commercial Break*

7:50: You should be nervous Jef. Kids can be tough.

7:51: Just give her time Jef.  Once kids start talking to you- they won’t stop.  Trust me.

7:54: So happy this meet and greet is going well.  I like when Emily said she could picture everything : )

7:55: I think it speaks a lot to Jef’s character that his favorite part was just talking on the steps.

*Commercial Break*

8:01: Ricky wants Jef back- always a good sign.

8:03: I love that he makes her laugh a lot, even in romantic moments.  They don’t have to be making out the whole time to have a connection.

8:05: Oh thank god it’s not just a book.  I was like…this doesn’t seem like a Jef present- oh wait.  Hahaha.

8:06: “Don’t do too much thinking.” Agreed.  I love that she keeps calling him “honey,” too.  Did anyone else pick up on that?

*Commercial Break*

8:11: Uhhh, I don’t care what these ladies think.  Moving on.  “I hope she chooses Arie..” (Me: WHAT????) “…so the rest of America can have Jef.” (Me: Ok lady.  I forgive you for the beginning of that sentence.)

8:14: What are you confused about Emily? WAIT YOU PICKED JEF????? YAYYAYYAYYAYYAYYAYYAY!

8:15: I can’t even focus on her words right now because I am so DAMN excited.  I am happy that she’s not even going through with the date.  If you know, you know.  Don’t give yourself more time to get torn again.

*Commercial Break*

8:22: Okay we got to get through the tears to get to Jef again.  Hang in there people! Poor Arie- Dead man walking.

8:23: No it’s not your last date….oh god.  You won’t meet Ricky.  You’re not getting engaged.  WHY WOULD THEY SHOW US THIS?  It’s so awkward as a viewer.

8:24: Spoiler: The love potion isn’t going to work.  And when she expresses her feelings you won’t feel amazing.

8:25: I want to hug Emily through the TV right now.  You can do this.  It will be good soon.  Just have to get through one last harsh goodbye.

8:26: It’s like a train wreck I can’t look away from O_o

8:27: Oh no.  He’s figuring this out.  Just go Emily.  Break his heart and leave.  You can’t accomplish anything else by sitting there crying in front of him.

8:30: Just let Arie go!  There’s nothing else to say.  Jef will be waiting for you!  Don’t forget the light at the end of the tunnel.

8:33: Joint crying shots- a Bachelorette staple.

*Commercial Break*

8:41: Why are we delaying the Emily/Jef reunion?? And I’m pretty sure the girl in white has fake boobs.  Just FYI.

8:44: We are going to another commercial? LAME.

*Commercial Break*

8:47: Oh good we’re on to Jef Day.

8:48: I like the look-back montage.  Jef is going to be so happy : D

8:49: OOOOO Sparkly *_* Does ABC pay for these rings?  They look a bit pricey.

8:50: I wish I could also hug Jef and tell him it will be okay.  Arie’s already gone dude.  You got this.

8:52: She’s not going to be able to do what if he proposes?  Say yes?  I think they’re just adding unnecessary drama at this point.

*Commercial Break*

8:57: Stop talking Chris.  Let’s just do this.

8:59: I feel like he should have come in on a skateboard again, haha.

9:01: I feel like he should have been more excited that Arie wasn’t even there today, but I guess he’s just nervous.

9:02: I love Jef’s speech ❤

9:03: Oh god, I might cry now.  SHE SAID YES!  I’m so excited now for my own proposal someday : D

9:05: Ooo I like the 80’s song.  If this doesn’t work out in the long run I will be so sad.

9:06: I love that Ricky ran in and that they are walking all hand in hand- and now in slow motion!

9:08: Does anyone else think Emily would look good with shoulder-length hair?

9:09: I would rather have the ring than tape around my finger…even if the person means more.  Just sayin’.

*Commercial Break*

9:16: I’m glad Arie is being mature and not pissed off like Chris was when she kicked him off.

9:18: I don’t really care too much about this Arie segment…but I agree with Arie.  Telling him what she told Chris would have been helpful.

9:21: He flew to Charlotte?!?! Wow.  Did she read the journal?  It looks unopened.

*Commercial Break*

9:27: Yeah, I’m glad she didn’t read it.  That would have been weird.  I do get him wanting more closure.  When you care about someone, you want to give that last ditch effort to know you did everything you could to be with them.

9:29: Can we please get past this awkwardness?  They already talked about this on the phone…and now we’re having to rehash it on live TV.

9:30: If I was Arie, I couldn’t be friends with Jef anymore.  I wouldn’t hate him or anything, but I feel like I wouldn’t get over the relationship still knowing details about the person.

*Commercial Break*

9:38: “I dated a lot of his friends” hahahahaha.

9:39: I like that they still joke a lot : ) Love the family vacation pics!

9:40: I kind of want Ricky in my class now.  She sounds awesome.

*Commercial Break*

9:46: Oh look.  Let’s watch the proposal we just saw 45 minutes ago…and add this little box in the corner to show their non-reactions.

9:50: I like that she took a few seconds to say yes.  It made it more meaningful when she did say it instead of just saying it quickly while caught up in the moment.

9:52: Where did this Dolphin PSA come from???

*Commercial Break*

9:55: Awww, they are gonna be a humanitarian couple ❤

9:56: I’m glad Ricky gets to stay with her family while they build their relationship.  And I’m happy they aren’t moving in together right away. It gives them time to grow a bit first : )

9:58: I will NOT be watching Bachelor Pad.  That show looks awful…

Final Thoughts: Thanks to Katie for getting me into this show so I could be this excited about Jef and Emily in the finale. Thank you Emily for being a smart person and realizing Jef is the one for you.  And also thank you Emily, for explaining you are with Jef because he brings out the best in you and makes you feel confident.  I feel like all girls and women, including myself, need to remember to hold out for someone like that ❤

Hope you guys enjoyed this live blog.  I had a lot of fun keeping it up throughout the show.  Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

