20 Movies to Look Forward to Before 2012 Ends: Part 2

Yesterday I started listing all the movies we still have to look forward to this year, even though Summer blockbusters have come to an end.  Like yesterday, I’ve listed all the movies by release date, included a brief description, and embedded the trailers for you to check out the movies yourselves.  Enjoy the rest of the list and let me know what movies you are looking forward to this year!

November 9th

Skyfall: The next big film in the James Bond Series.  I don’t even remember what the last one, Quantum of Solace, was about, but I’m sure I will end up seeing this one anyway.  I would try to explain the premise, but you can just watch the trailer for yourself.

Anna Karenina: For all you period piece and book lovers- this is the movie for you.  I’ve never read Tolstoy’s novel, but I know it’s about a woman who is married to a government official while having an affair with a Count.  She considers leaving her husband to be with her lover, but has to deal with the backlash of Russian society in doing so.  This movie has the same lead (Keira Knightley) and director (Joe Wright) as one of my top favorite movies- Pride and Prejudice.  This makes me think I may just like it ; )

November 16th

Breaking Dawn-Part 2: This is the final installment of the Twilight series, so non-fans should be happy it has come to an end.  I’m a fan of the series, but even I’m ready to move on after this.  In this last movie, Bella deals with becoming a vampire, the Cullens prepare to fight for their family against an army of vampires, and Jacob *finally* gives up his crush on Bella- in favor of her daughter instead.  Yeah, that pretty much sums it up.

November 21st

Silver Linings Playbook: Two recovering mental cases, played by Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, find solace in each other despite their obvious quirks.  I haven’t heard much about this movie, but I found the trailer endearing enough to add to my movie list.  Besides the leads, the move also has a strong supporting cast, so it may just be a hit.

Life of Pi: I still remember reading an excerpt from this book in high school.  I thought it was so intriguing, but I never ended up reading the whole thing.  Perhaps I might just have to grab a copy before this movie gets to theaters.  In Life of Pi, a young man gets stranded on a lifeboat with a tiger (upon more research, it seems other animals are with them, too) after a ship carrying his family and their zoo animals sinks.  The story follows their struggle to survive in the middle of the ocean.  The trailer already looks beautiful.  I’m hoping it’s a good adaptation for fans of the book.

Rise of the Guardians: I’ve been seeing trailers for this animated movie for awhile.  The story follows how Santa, the Easter Bunny, Jack Frost, the Tooth Fairy, and the Sandman have to team up to fight off an evil spirit that threatens children around the world.  It sounds kind of weird at first, but the trailer makes the movie seem more like an animated movie for adults (like Shrek– which had a lot of humor for the over 12-year-old crowd).

December 14th

The Hobbit-An Unexpected Journey: Do I really need to convince you to see a Peter Jackson directed prequel to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy (three of the greatest films ever created, in my humble opinion)?  Yeah, didn’t think so.  This is another book-turned-movie I need to read.  I made an effort to read all the individual Lord of the Rings books before their films, and I’ve heard The Hobbit is a much quicker read (apparently it’s written as a kid’s book).  What I do know about The Hobbit is that it follows the story of Bilbo, including his big adventures with Gandalf and how he came upon the One Ring.

December 21st

This is 40: This is a sort-of-sequel to Knocked Up, only the story follows Debbie and Pete (the sister of Katherine Heigl’s character and her husband).  The couple is struggling with getting older and tries to stick to some resolutions to improve their lives.  Knocked Up is definitely not one of my favorite movies, but this movie looks funny enough to make the trek out to the theater.

Monster’s Inc 3D: Just like Finding Nemo, I’m really excited that this movie is coming back to theaters.  I think it is even more exciting because the new Monster’s Inc movie-Monster’s University– is coming out next summer.  This will be a nice refresher for those who haven’t seen the movie in awhile before seeing the prequel about how Scully and Mike met at college.

December 25th

The Great Gatsby: Okay, I’ll admit it.  Besides hearing the title before, I know absolutely nothing about the plot of The Great Gatsby.  However, I was so excited to hear Baz Luhrmann was directing (because I love Moulin Rouge!) and that Leonardo DiCaprio was starring in it (Leo is usually a sign of Oscar nomination potential).  Check out the artsy trailer for yourselves, and try not to immediately want to buy a flapper dress afterwards.

Leave a Reply

