My Go-To (and actually healthy!) Breakfast

Last year I spent a lot of time hard boiling eggs for school. I’d take one or two with me in the morning and try to scarf them down while I took attendance, listed off the day’s agenda, and recorded which students ate the school breakfast. It was not the easiest of feats, but I managed. Now in my second year of teaching, I’ve come to appreciate the greatness that comes from eating a really filling breakfast. While I was putting together my LifeSTYLE Book, I came across a “recipe” (it’s less of a recipe and more putting food on top of each other) for a little twist on the usual Eggo waffle breakfast.

sunbutter

The recipe suggested getting two multigrain frozen waffles (less than $2 for 10 at Target), toasting them, and then spreading Sunbutter on top. I have always been loyal to peanut butter, and it was hard to make such a drastic change, but I tried it. It’s a bit smoother than peanut butter and has a little more of a nut flavoring. It’s pretty comparable, though, and from my research the health benefits are pretty even for both. But, if you are looking for a change- I’d pick up Sunbutter from your local Target. It’s in the aisle with all the regular peanut butter stuff, but keep in mind it will be more expensive. I usually pay about $6 for it and get a new jar every three weeks or so.

After you make your fateful Sunbutter vs. Peanut Butter choice, cut up a banana and throw those slices on top. I have to buy really small bananas so I don’t have to cut these huge chunks to fit on my waffle, so try grabbing those mini bunches when you’re digging through produce at the store. This is how it should look (no surprises!):

IMG_2486

I eat this almost religiously on school days unless I’m running late. It can keep me full for about 6 hours, which is amazing. I’ve made this for lunch and dinner sometimes, too, if I’m feeling particularly lazy and want a quick food fix. Delicious : )

5 Comments to “My Go-To (and actually healthy!) Breakfast”

  1. I love the combination of peanut butter and bananas, but I’m sure sunbutter would be great too! Add in waffles, and it sounds irresistible!

Leave a Reply

