Winter Break Haul: Ulta Make-Up

Over Winter Break, I kind of went overboard on shopping (thanks mom and dad for the extra sponsorship on this!). I hadn’t gotten much in the way of clothes or make-up since I bought my new car (having a $250ish car payment added a month, as well as an increased insurance payment cuts WAY into my meager teacher’s salary), and my mom felt it was time for me to have a “Treat Yo’ Self” day…er, week…of shopping. I’ll slowly post what I got in little mini updates over the next couple weeks. For my first one, I wanted to share what I got at Ulta during their their after Christmas sales.

Ulta Nail Polish 2

First, I spotted a deal in the center of the store where you got two free Ulta nail polishes with a purchase of a lipstick. I figured they chose what colors you got for free and that they came in tiny sample bottles, but I was happy to be wrong. I got to pick out my own colors in the wide range of full-sized bottle offerings. I finally settled on Femme Fatal, a dark brown with a hint of dark red shimmer, and Plum Perfect, a bright pinkish purple (both polishes are now $3 online). I haven’t tried them out yet, but I’m not too picky about nail polish quality. Being a teacher makes it near impossible to keep nails chip-free for very long anyway.

IMG_3239

The lipstick that got me these nail polishes was Good Year For Wine for $8 (now 50% off, but without the nail polish bonus). These wine tints always tend to go well with my complexion, and I am almost completely out of an old lipstick (forgot the brand) called Tropical Punch which is a similar color. The Ulta lipstick is strongly pigmented, but I think it wears off pretty easily by the end of the day. If you’re looking for long-lasting lip color, this might not be the best choice, but it’s fine for a short night out or if you don’t mind re-applying.

IMG_3240

I also picked up a Neutrogena skin clearing oil free foundation in Nude for $12.99 (they are currently buy one, get one 50% off online!). I never put foundation all over my face, and usually opt for concealer in select spots of redness on my face. Unfortunately, the latest ones I have used have really made me break out more, so I wanted to go back to the Neutrogena brand. It provides decent coverage without clogging your pores.

Finally, I get jealous of all these people who have the fancy Naked and Naked 2 eyeshadow palettes. I really don’t need a palette that expensive, though, but I was looking for a new set of neutrals. Some of mine are really old and I wanted to change it up. I found this nice set of five colors from Revlon in “Natural Glamor” for $8.99.

Revlon Eyeshadow Natural Glamor

Based on the how-to guide on the back (thank god for these), it seems to give a nice basic look with a slight smokey eye effect.

Revlon Natural Glamor Guide

This is perfect for me. I never use eyeliner or mascara because I am a chronic eye rubber. I’d much prefer using a dark eyeshadow to outline my eyes which tends to smudge less and blend in instead if I rub my eyes.

So, for about $30 I picked up my complete daily look of make-up- foundation, eyeshadow, and lipstick (plus bonus nail polishes!). Ulta is great, but I definitely can’t go there too often or I will buy so much make-up I don’t need. It’s that intoxicating with it’s color palette choices and good deals ; )

One Trackback to “Winter Break Haul: Ulta Make-Up”

Leave a Reply

