Dusting Off the Soapbox

I am well aware that I live in Oklahoma- a firm red state where people are very happy to support the right to bear arms.  I try to keep my mouth shut about a lot of things here following Thumper’s rule “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nuthin’ at all,” but today I heard something on the radio that completely pissed me off and made me really sad for our country.

The radio hosts were talking about how a lady was called a hero for defending herself when a man broke into her house.  They explained that a man kept ringing the doorbell and eventually broke into the house when she and her two kids were home.  She was able to take her two kids and hide in some type of crawl space, but when the man found them and tried to enter the same space, she shot him like 5 times.  He somehow got away, but soon crashed his car- likely unable to drive from the injuries he sustained.  He is now in prison.  You can read more about it here.

shooting story

They got a deputy on the line who dealt with the incident and he was like “We need more people like this lady who are responsible gun owners who can defend themselves.”  I TOTALLY don’t believe anyone should have a gun in their house, *especially* if you have children around.  When I was little I used to watch Rescue 911, and there were a bunch of episodes, like the one below, where kids would find a gun in their house and accidentally shoot their sibling, friend, or themselves.  This was horrifying to me, and I believe growing up in a family that never even mentioned guns made me more rooted in the belief that they don’t belong in the house (if you own one at all).

Anyway, I could usually get over hearing a story like this.  The lady didn’t kill the man, and maybe she was able to protect her kids and herself from getting injured or killed.  I don’t know enough details about the break in to pass judgement.

HOWEVER- I was basically enraged by the female radio host’s response: “I can’t believe she let him go!  I would have killed him.  You can come break into my house whenever you want, but you WILL NOT walk out of it.”

Really lady?  Someone is going to break in to steal your TV and you are going to feel like you have the right to kill them?  REALLY????  Ugh.  I find this disgusting.  If I was in a scenario where I had to fight for my life and actually killed someone- even if it was to save myself or a loved one from death- I feel like I would carry that guilt with me for the rest of my life.  No matter what the circumstances, taking a life should not be something you are completely fine with doing.  And it should never be something you joke about on the radio.

I am so disgusted by this one comment I honestly thought about writing the station a letter about it.  I then decided to write here and share this story and my reaction with you.  I don’t expect everyone to agree with me and share my anger, and its not like I don’t have friends who own guns.  It’s just not a choice I would make.  I know people are going to get guns if they want them, whether they are allowed to or not, so I don’t think stricter gun control will solve much in the way of violence in our society.  My issue is more with the fact that some people seem to have no problem with the idea of taking a life.

Leave a Reply

