Winter Break Haul: SHOES!

Okay so I don’t know if three pairs of shoes is considered a “haul,” but it might be the most amount of pairs I’ve gotten in one shopping spree.  First I stopped at Payless with my mom.  I always can count on Payless to have practical shoes that actually *fit* my foot.  I, Kelly Schrumpf, have wide feet.  There.  I admitted it.  This condition makes it difficult to find shoes anywhere, and I usually feel like everyone else but Cinderella as I go through pair after pair, never able to fit my feet into shoes.  Payless has been a savior to me in this area because about 30% of their shoes are in wide widths.  It’s not uncommon for me to tell the sales person when I check out how thankful I am to have a haven where my wide feet are accepted and accommodated : )

I have some great black flats from American Eagle that have been very dependable as I wear them day after day to work.  However, the lining is starting to wear off on my feet throughout the day because they are getting old.  I even had bought a back-up pair of these, and recently have worn them down, too.  I was hoping to find similar flats and was lucky that American Eagle had created these for Payless:

American Eagle Black Flats

These look pretty close to my old ones, but the knot at the top is a slightly different detail.  I’ve worn them several times, and since they are a wide size, my feet aren’t killing me at the end of the day.  They also have this cloth lining that prevents the disintegration problem that happened with my old shoes.  Unfortunately, after the *first* time I wore these, the right foot cloth lining started to pull down from the toe : (  This didn’t happen on the other shoe and I try to just flatten it back into shape when I wear them.  This was a little disappointing to happen so early, but they are fine besides that.  I don’t even notice it after a few minutes of wearing them.  Just be careful if you buy them to see if that fabric lining has started to pull at all.

Lower East Side Nude Flats

I also grabbed these Lower East Side flats because I only own different variations of black flats.  I figured I could use these nude ones when I am not wearing any black or want a slightly fancier look (they have that glossy shine that brings them up a notch from basic flats).  They are a little stiff and gave me a blister on my heel when I first wore them.  I would recommend breaking them in a bit by wearing them with socks around the house, or putting a secure band-aid on your heel the first few times you wear them out.

Dress Barn Black and Gray Faux Suede Boots

After Payless, I was lucky enough to go to Dress Barn and find these boots.  I initially went to Dress Barn to look for slacks for work.  They actually have a great selection for all sizes that fit comfortably (so many places sell slacks that are tight around the top and then have really loose and long pant legs- or maybe my body shape is just weird).  I decided to just glance at the shoes on my way to checking out and found these black and gray boots.  Now, you need to know that it is impossible for me to find boots.  Boots require getting around your foot AND your calf, and with my already wide feet problems, this gets a bit ridiculous.  I really liked these faux suede boots, though, and decided to try them on for fun.  I’ve been wanting boots with a slouchy top, but have never found any that fit right.  I was really lucky that these fit near perfectly.

They were a bit on the expensive side ($60 then, now they are only $29.99- you can buy them here), but my mom took pity on my never-ending boot quest and bought them for me.  I am so grateful for this because I have been able to wear these a lot to school with my sweater dresses and black leggings.  I have learned to wear double layers of socks, though, to add some extra padding.  My soles hurt a bit by the end of the first day I wore them with only one pair of socks.  I’m glad this was an easy fix.  I love my new boots!

Note: This is part three of my Winter Break Haul series.  You can also read about my Ulta Haul and my Forever 21 Haul posted earlier.

Leave a Reply

